12 Counties Added to Pennsylvania’s Spotted Lanternfly Quarantine

The Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture announced that 12 counties have been added to Pennsylvania’s spotted lanternfly quarantine zone ahead of the 2020 spring hatch. With this addition, the quarantine area (PDF) for this invasive pest is now at 26 counties.The newly added counties are not completely infested, but have a few municipalities with a known infestation, which led to a quarantine being placed on the entire county out of an abundance of caution.

The following counties have been added to the spotted lanternfly quarantine for 2020:

·        Allegheny
·        Beaver
·        Blair
·        Columbia
·        Cumberland
·        Huntingdon
·        Juniata
·        Luzerne
·        Mifflin
·        Northumberland
·        Perry
·        York

Businesses that operate in or travel through quarantined counties are required to obtain a spotted lanternfly permit. Penn State Extension and the Department of Agriculture both provide resources for the homeowners within the quarantined areas.For more information about the spotted lanternfly, visit the Department of Agriculture’s website

Print Friendly, PDF & Email